The School of Postgraduate Studies, University of Nigeria, Nsukka on its 40th year of existence organized her first Grand Alumni Homecoming and Reunion on the 7th December, 2018 under the Deanship of Professor (Mrs.) P. O. Osadebe, the Committee Members and Chairmanship of Professor (Mrs.) F. O. Orabueze. Different categories of awards were bagged by our distinguished grand alumni.

The event was attended by eminent personalities which included The Guest Lecturer, His Excellency, (Dr.) Ibrahim Shekarau CON Former Governor of Kano State & Former Minister of Education, The Keynote Speaker, Prof. V. C. Okore – Vice-Chancellor CARITAS University, Enugu. Royal Fathers of the day, His Royal Highness Igwe Nnaemeka Alfred Achebe – Obi of Onitsha, and His Royal Highness, Igwe G. F. C. Asadu – The Okpeudo I of Ihe n’ Owerre, Chairman of the Occasion, Prof. (Mrs.) R. E. Umeh, members of the Governing Council, among others.

Below is the list of awardees and photos of the great event:



Academic Leadership Award

  1. Professor Mike Adikwu —— Vice-Chancellor, University of Abuja
  2. Chinedum Nwajiuba —— Vice-Chancellor, Alex Ekwueme Federal University, Ndufu Alike-Ikwo
  3. Professor Ibrahim A. Ngodi —— Vice-Chancellor, Federal University of Maiduguri, Borno State
  4. Professor I. U. Asuzu Former —— Vice-Chancellor, Federal University of Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State
  5. Professor Malachy Okwueze —— Vice-Chancellor, Coal City University, Enugu State
  6. Professor V. C. Okore —— Vice-Chancellor, CARITAS University, Amoji-Nike, Enugu State
  7. Chuks Emmanuel Ezedum —— Vice-Chancellor, Madonna University, Okija, Anambra State
  8. Fr. Prof. H. Icheoku —— Vice-Chancellor, VERITAS University, Abuja
  9. Greg Chukwudi Nwakoby —— Vice-Chancellor, Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Uli, Anambra State
  10. Professor Bassey Asuqo —— Vice-Chancellor, University of Calabar, Cross River State

National Service Award

  1. Boboye Olayemi Oyeyemi —— Corps Marshall/Chief Executive, Federal Road Safety Corps
  2. Senator Dr. Nkechi Nwogu —– Pro-Chancellor, University of Calabar
  3. Garba Shehu —— Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity
  4. Steve Egbo —— Executive Director, Admin and Training NTA Headquarters, Abuja
  5. Omar Suleiman —— Chairman/CEO, Noblegate Projects Ltd
  6. Justice C. C. Nweze —— Justice of the Supreme Court of Nigeria
  7. Dr Mrs. Rachael Dickson —— Wife of the Executive Governor of Bayelsa State
  8. Godwin Emefiele —— Governor, Central Bank of Nigeria
  9. Professor Lilian Salami —— Director/Chief Executive, National Institute for Education Planning and Administration
  10. Dr. Obinna J. Nwachukwu —— Ebonyi State Commissioner for Finance and Economic Development.

Political Leadership Award

  1. Dr. Nicholas Ossai —— Member, Federal House of Representatives, Federal Republic of Nigeria
  1. Sam Ominyi Egwu —— Former Governor of Ebonyi State

Research Leadership Award

  1. Professor Charles Igwe —— Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Administration), University of Nigeria, Nsukka
  1. Professor (Mrs) F. N. Okeke, FTWAS —— Department of Physics, University of  Nigeria, Nsukka


Religious Leadership Award

  1. His Eminence, Most Rev. Nzie I. Eke —— Prelate and Moderator, the General assembly of the Presbyterian Church of Nigeria
  1. His Lordship, Rt. Rev Aloysius E. Agbo (JP) —— Bishop, Diocese of Nsukka (Anglican Communion)

Academic Achievement Award

  1. Emeritus Professor P. N. Okeke, FAS —— Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Nigeria, Nsukka

Award of Excellence

  1. Chief Mike Olorunfemi —— Pro-Chancellor, University of Nigeria, Nsukka
  1. Professor Benjamin C. Ozumba, FRCOG, FACOG, FACS —— Vice-Chancellor, University of Nigeria, Nsukka

Award of Appreciation

  1. His Excellency, Mallam I. Shekarau, CON —— Guest Lecturer, Grand Postgraduate Alumni Homecoming, 2018
  2. Chief Dr. Augustine Ilodibe —— Family Donor of the first Postgraduate School Building




IMG_3350 IMG_3323IMG_3343 IMG_3334 IMG_3323 IMG_3312 IMG_3307 IMG_3303 IMG_3300 IMG_3296 IMG_3290 IMG_3286 IMG_3277 IMG_3263 IMG_3259 IMG_3245 IMG_3236 IMG_3229 IMG_3214 IMG_3201 IMG_3173 IMG_3189 IMG_3168 IMG_3155 IMG_3145 IMG_3085 IMG_3072 IMG_3119 IMG_3118 IMG_3123 IMG_3139 IMG_3142