- 1. Full name: Department of Veterinary Surgery and Radiology
- 2. **Driving Philosophy/ Motto of Department:** There is an acute shortage of veterinary graduates who are specialists in Veterinary Surgery. Surgery occupies a unique central position in the practice of medicine. The postgraduate programme in the Department have been carefully designed for specialist training in the modern art and science of surgical skills in both large, small and wild (Zoo) animals to first degree holders in Veterinary Medicine. While such candidates may wish to specialize in a particular field of operative surgery, she/he shall be required to develop some degree of working competence in other areas of surgery.

3. Departmental logo:

4. Brief history of department giving information of its Headship from inception to date:

The Department formerly Department of Veterinary Surgery and Obstetrics was created with effect from August 1980. On inception, the department had 8, 3 and 10 academic, senior technical staff and junior staff respectively. The founding academic members were Prof K.V Mally, Dr J.O Omamegbe (Senior lecturer), Dr V.P Mittal (Senior lecturer), Dr V.K Sundaravadanan (Senior Lecturer), Dr E.M Ojukwu (Lecturer 1), Dr C.S Daudu (Lecturer I), Dr R.O.C Kene (Lecturer 1), Dr Diribe Uzo (Graduate assistant) and Dr J.E Obiuwevbi (Graduate assistant). Approved post graduate teachers were Prof K.V Mally, Dr J.O Omamegbe, Dr V.K Sundaravadanan, Dr C.S Daudu and Dr R.O.C Kene. The underlisted have served as Heads of Department from inception till date

1980: Dr G.I Onuorah

1981/82, 82/83, 83/84, 85/86, 86/87: Dr J.O Omamegbe

1988/89, 89/90: Dr R.O.C Kene 1990/91, 91/92: Dr C.S Daudu

1993/94: Dr R.O.C Kene, Dr C.S Daudu 1994/95, 95/96, 96/97: Dr E.M Ojukwu

1997/98: Dr R.O.C Kene, Dr E.M Ojukwu

1998/99, 99/2000: Dr A.I.A Osuagwu

2000/2001: Dr E.M Ojukwu

2001/2002: Dr C.A Eze, Prof R.O.C Kene

2002/2003, 2003/2004, 2004/2005, 2005/2006: Prof R.O.C Kene

2006/2007: Dr C.A. Eze

2007/2008, 2008/2009: Prof J.O.A Okoye

2009/2010: Dr C. A Eze

2010/2011, 2011/2012: Dr T.O Nnaji 20012/2013, 2013/2014: Dr C.A Eze

2014/2015, 2015/2016: Dr S.O Udegbunam

2016/2017: Dr (Mrs) R.I Udegbunam

5. Approved postgraduate programmes/date of approval:

Msc (1983), PhD

6. Academic staff of department with their qualifications and affiliations

Dr(Mrs) R.I Udegbunam DVM, MVSC, PhD (Ag. Head)

Prof C.A. Eze DVM, MSc, PhD, FCVSN

Dr S.O Udegbunam DVM, MSC, PhD

Dr T.O Nnaji DVM, MSC, PhD

Dr A.C Onuba DVM, MSC

Dr G.E Offor DVM

Dr K.C Ogbaya DVM, MSC

Dr N.E Ugwu DVM, MSC

7. Postgraduate experience

- (ai). No of MSC graduated from inception of post graduate studies: 12
- (aii). No of PhD graduated from inception of post graduate studies: 5

b. Post graduate teachers/supervisors

Prof C.A. Eze DVM, MSc, PhD, FCVSN

Dr (Mrs) R.I Udegbunam DVM, MVSC, PhD

Dr S.O Udegbunam DVM, MSC, PhD

Dr T.O Nnaji DVM, MSC, PhD

8. Statement of competence/skills acquirable at the end of postgraduate studies in the department

The post graduate programme will enable students to acquire skills in diagnostic imaging, Anaesthesiology, Orthopaedics, Oncology, Ophthalmology, Soft tissue surgery and Large animal surgery

9. Some pictures of activities undertaken by the department

10. Any distinguishable grand alumnus of your department

11. Any other information